Hello, Germany!

This month, Book 1 of the Grisha Trilogy will be published in Germany under the title Grischa: Goldene Flammen!!

1. In September, I’ll be visiting Germany for the first time to visit the Harbourfront Festival in Hamburg to celebrate the launch! SO. MANY. WOOTS.

2. Can I just say that I love the German cover? I’m not sure it could be more different from the US version, but it has this lovely retro feel and there’s something so haunted in Alina’s expression.

3. My wonderful German publisher is doing a little scavenger hunt for their bloggers, and they sent me this to put up on the blog:

“Das Problem mit dem Verlangen ist, dass es uns schwächt”, flüsterte er und ließ die Lippen über mein Kinn gleiten. Vor meinem Mund hielt er inne. Und dann – ich konnte es schon fast nicht mehr ertragen – drückte er seine Lippen endlich auf die meinen.”

In case you were wondering, here’s the English translation of the excerpt they chose:
“The problem with wanting,” he whispered, his mouth trailing along my jaw until it hovered over my lips, “is that it makes us weak.” And then, at last, when I thought I couldn’t bear it any longer, he brought his mouth down on mine.”
Hotchacha!
And… I just found out that my short story Witch of Duva will be available in German as well!
Can’t wait for September. And if people have recs for Berlin, Hamburg, or Belfast (yup, headed there after), I’d love to hear them!
19 Comments

Filed under The Violet Hour

19 responses to “Hello, Germany!

  1. Looking forward to September too. I loved reading it and from the sample of the German audiobook, will love listening to it too :-)

  2. Oh, wow. That magazine cover? Epic hotness. Cannot. WAIT. for Book 2. <3

  3. I’d didn’t think any cover would surpass the OMG-AWESOMENESS of the US cover (I put my copy with it’s cover facing out on my bookshaled so I can always admire it from afar), but I am definitely lovin’ the German cover.

    Not if only I could figure out German.

  4. Love the German cover! You’re right–so very retro, but still very fresh. I think you should get a print enlarged and framed :)

  5. Michael Jennings

    Great cover.

  6. Glad you guys are liking it!

  7. That cover is GORGEOUS! I’m sure you’ll have loads of fun at the festival next month.

  8. Hallo und guten Tag, beautiful German cover!

  9. Lo

    Wow, congrats :) I bought Shadow and Bone last month and finished it within two days. Loved it. The world building was really interesting :) The Darkling was sexy. Congrats on rights being sold in Germany and third printing!!
    Lo

  10. Taeryn

    I have to say, that cover would not have attracted me like the US one. And that excert would have made me fear it was smutty, which the book is thanfully not. But maybe that attracts ‘em in Germany. If so, that’s sad.

  11. name

    CONGRATS LEIGH!!! The excerpt is really…wanting. Does that make sense? Have fun in Germany!!!!

  12. Pingback: [Rumpelkammer] Weiteres aus der Welt von “Grischa” « Biblio Fantastica

  13. Hi, I’m one of the lucky german bloggers and I’m currently reading the german edition and I simply love it!
    I really hope you’ll visit Berlin, too.

Leave a Reply

