Aaron Sorkin wants to believe

My post on my fancy new feather headdress will have to wait til Wednesday because I just watched part of the rebroadcast of the Golden Globes and I’m a little baffled by Aaron Sorkin’s acceptance speech. I mean, did it not seem a bit… I don’t know… delusional?

I wanted to say to Mark Zuckerberg, if you’re watching tonight, Rooney Mara’s character makes a prediction at the beginning of the movie, she was wrong. You turned out to be a great entrepreneur, a visionary and an altruist.”

In case you don’t remember the speech from The Social Network, here it is:

You are probably going to be a very successful computer person. But you’re going to go through life thinking that girls don’t like you because you’re a nerd. And I want you to know, from the bottom of my heart, that that won’t be true. It’ll be because you’re an asshole.

So Sorkin says that Mara’s character got it wrong. Delightful. Except that Sorkin WROTE Mara’s speech AND he used the rest of the movie to prove her right. More importantly, he did this knowing everything about Zuckerberg that he knows today (altruism, steady girlfriend and all). I’m just not sure that it’s fair to poop all over someone’s reputation and then blame it on one of your characters.

But equally strange was Sorkin’s shout-out to his daughter:

Honey, look around, smart girls have more fun.”

Again, a delightful sentiment and one that I wholly endorse. But do the Golden Globes really exemplify this? Let’s take Sorkin’s advice and look around. What do we see? What do the cameras show us? Gorgeous men, craggy men, nerdy men, bald men– all surrounded by almost universally gorgeous, slender women. I love glamour. I love looking at pretty people in sparkly gowns and I have no problem with Halle Berry’s gams or the boobaliciousness of January Jones. But if there’s a message here, it’s definitely not “Study hard and join an improv group.”

2 Comments

Filed under The Violet Hour

2 responses to “Aaron Sorkin wants to believe

  1. I specifically tell my children not to look at Hollywood or any other type of entertainer for role models.

Leave a Reply

