The Balm: Beauty Tips from the Icy Tundra

During my time on the tundra, I’ve heard a lot of talk about chapped lips. If you want to be ready to pout with fervor in all sorts of weather, just follow my lippy commandments (there’s only five and none of them involve adultery):

1. Use lip balm once or twice a day at most. Don’t become an addict. Use balm too often and your lips will stop producing their natural oils so you’re actually making life harder on yourself.

2. When your lips feel dry, don’t lick them. It just dries them out more. Gently press your lips together to stimulate oil production.

3. Use the right product: I’m partial to the reasonably priced, delightfully retro Smith’s Rosebud Salve (their web site is a wreck but I feel this adds to their charm), available many places including Drugstore.com (unlike Sephora, they have all of the Smith’s products). Rosebud is the classic, but I use the Mocha Rose every night and could not do without it.

4. Avoid anything with menthol (I’m looking at you “medicated” Blistex). That cooling tingle can irritate chapped lips.

5. If you apply the Rosebud Salve to your lips every night, your lips should be in great shape. But if you’re going to be wearing a dark or bright lip color and want to guarantee a flawless pucker, exfoliate. There are a few lip exfoliants out there. I’m partial to Sara Happ’s lip scrubs. But if you’re in a pinch, a little brown sugar or even a regular granulated sugar packet will do. Use your finger or a disposable mascara wand to massage into the lips. Don’t go overboard, and remember to soothe with lip balm after.

Beauty questions? Send them my way and I’ll do my very best to answer.

3 Comments

Filed under Prettification

3 responses to “The Balm: Beauty Tips from the Icy Tundra

  1. I like your advice, but I’m pretty sure lanolin is actually a naturally occurring oil in sheep’s wool (still an animal product.) Why are you under the impression that it’s rendered sheep’s fat?

  2. Hey, Caitlin
    You are dead right. A vegan MUA told me that about lanolin and I completely bought it, but just the barest googling turns up the truth! I have slandered lanolin and will edit the post to set things right.
    Thanks for keeping me honest,
    Lb

  3. Nima

    Hey Leigh darling, It’s great to ‘hear’ your voice through the Interwebs. And I’m always looking struggling with chapped lips. Can’t wait to hear more great beauty tips.

Leave a Reply

