Mapmaker, Mapmaker, Make Me a Map

Yesterday, I got my first glimpse of the map of Ravka for Shadow & Bone. I’m not yet free to share it as it’s still a draft, but I can (at last) reveal the remarkable artist who will be bringing the world of the Grisha to life. You may know Keith Thompson from his incredible work on Scott Westerfeld‘s LEVIATHAN. If not, feast your eyes on this (and make sure to click on the image to get all the glorious detail):

While you’re at it, check out his creepy, ethereal Saint of Parasites:

To see the world I’ve imagined interpreted by an artist like Keith is really beyond all dreaming. I’m honored, giddy really, and I can’t wait to share the map with all of you.

Until then, very happy holidays to all! I wish you warm fires, strong drink, and all the magic you can summon on a cold winter’s night.

 

11 Comments

Filed under Writing

11 responses to “Mapmaker, Mapmaker, Make Me a Map

  1. Holy, oh my gosh! I see a movie in this.

  2. AMAZING, Leigh!! I’m soo excited for the reveal😀

  3. Oh wow! Not only are you going to have a map, which is totally awesome in itself, but you are going to have an AMAZING map done by a super talented artist! Can’t wait to see what your map will look like😀

  4. Ben

    you are going to have one kick ass map for sure!

  5. Wow, the illustrations look amazing. I’m excited to find out more about your book and see what he has done for you. Hope you and your family have a very Merry Christmas🙂

  6. I AM SO EXCITED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (Also, I love you.)

  7. Sammy Bina

    That is AMAZING! I loooooove his work! *Art history nerd in the house*

  8. And…. now I know what I’ll be seeing in my dreams, tonight. Wow!

  9. You definitely got the perfect artist to create a map! I loved his work in Leviathan…can’t wait to see what he does for your novel!🙂

Leave a Reply

