The Skin Game

It’s been a while since I did a product post, but this one can wait no longer. THE PEOPLE NEED TO KNOW.

The product I get asked about most frequently is mascara, but right behind that is foundation. No single foundation is right for all skin types, but if you have dry to normal or combination skin, the only answer is FACEAtelier Ultra Foundation.

I’ve been using FACEAtelier on myself and on clients for almost two years now. It’s a silicone-based foundation that gives a gorgeous, natural finish under any lighting. It’s easy to apply and easy to layer for more coverage. (Plus it’s cruelty free!)

So if I’ve been using it for so long, why blab about it now? Because I just saw the stills from the video I made for my UK publisher. Now, let’s be clear: I am a very vain girl. Consequently, I curate my Facebook photos mercilessly. (My coat of arms should read, “Don’t tag me, bro.”) But on video, there’s nowhere to hide and it can be a rather cringe-inducing reality check. (Who’s that girl with the round cheeks and the crazy eyes? Oh! Oh.) That said, thanks to FA, the one thing I didn’t have to squirm over was my skin.

Ees glowy, no? And I have what can be politely called “problem” skin.

If you have serious texture problems, FA won’t magically make them disappear. (As we say in the business, “It’s a brush, not a wand.”) BUT it provides lovely, natural, moisturizing coverage that is kind to redness, fine lines, pores, and bumps.

FA is a Canadian brand, but it’s carried by a few salons and beauty supplies in the US and you can click here to see where. You can also order online. If you’re worried about finding the right color, you can order 5 ml samples for $1 each. Yes, it’s a bit of a pain, but this product is so worth it. Also, may I just say that FA is fantastic for women of color?

Finally, I need to offer HUGE thanks to Rachel Tejada, Ray Tejada, and Austin Wilkin. They oversaw everything related to the video– scheduling, scripting, concept, crew, and post. They also nabbed the crazy talented Travis Smith-Evans to shoot little ol’ me. I’ve been on a lot of sets and this one ran like a dream. (Despite the temperamental talent. Yeesh. What a diva.) They’re planning on forming a production company and I can’t wait to see all the amazing projects they’re sure to deliver.

5 Comments

Filed under Products I Love

5 responses to “The Skin Game

  1. Zoraida (@zlikeinzorro)

    so pretty🙂

  2. You look gorgeous, Leigh!!! Can’t wait to see the finished video😀

  3. Thanks, guys! Do note that I curated the stills as carefully as I curate FB😉

  4. Beth

    Absolutely stunning! What were the other products you were wearing? Very classy. 🙂

    I am ridiculously intrigued by the white board next to you. What was written on it?

  5. Good catch, Beth! The whiteboard actually contains some of my work on book 2. If you look very closely, you might be able to catch some spoilers😉

    Here’s a rundown of the products I’m wearing:
    Makeup Forever HD Powder
    Kevyn Aucoin Blush and Highlighter in Coral and Candlelight
    Vanity Mark Brow Powder in Lightest Blond
    Fiberwig Lengthening Mascara in Black
    Yaby Eyeshadow from the Neutrals Palette
    Bourjois Lip Pencil #11 with Stila Gloss in Cranberry

    If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to email me! I could talk product all day long.

Leave a Reply

