My World: Rocked

Fairly sure I’ll be hit by a meteor soon. No girl can be this lucky.

When I was working on Shadow & Bone, back before it even had a title, I sometimes daydreamed about seeing a map of the world I’d imagined. Then I’d catch myself and squash that fantasy. I didn’t have an agent. I hadn’t finished a real draft. Who did I think I was? Technically, this isn’t a dream come true because I never really let myself believe this moment could happen.

Without further ado, I present Keith Thompson‘s map of Ravka.

(click to enlarge)

Stay tuned for an interview with Keith about how he works and the process of bringing Ravka to life.

27 Comments

Filed under Writing

27 responses to “My World: Rocked

  1. Fantastic…love the deer and how creepy is the Unsea?!?

  2. Eeee! It’s beautiful!😀

  3. CONGRATS Leigh! It’s absolutely GORGEOUS!

  4. LOVE it! That is so cool. I was in LOVE with maps in books when I was a teen. Okay, I may still have a thing for them… Hooray for your amazing map! (Love The Unsea. Brrr.)

  5. Gorgeous! Just perfect. I think the finished book is going to be insanely beautiful, isn’t it?

  6. Pam

    Perfect. I stayed up to read 148 pages last night and this map is VERY helpful. So pretty!

  7. It looks very cool – can’t wait to read the book too!
    – Jessica @ Book Sake

  8. That is beyond gorgeous. I love all the creatures in the Unsea. Every detail is amazing. Just… wow!

  9. Holy cow, I am full of SQUEE.

  10. Love seeing the full-sized version of this! So beautiful! I definitely echo the squeeeeee

  11. Adore maps in books. Awesome. Can’t wait to read it. The creatures are soooo nice. Good luck!

  12. Elana K. Arnold

    Wow!! This is so cool! I can’t wait for your book!

  13. I love it! Keith did an amazing job. I’m definitely going to print it out and put it in a copy of Shadow & Bone when I get it and follow the story on the map. Congratulations!

  14. T.T Perfection. I can’t wait for Shadow & Bone!

  15. Just want to thank everyone for all of the lovely tweets and comments. It’s so wonderful to be able to share this, makes it all feel a little more real😀

  16. You’ve got this blown up huge, matted, and framed, right? Right????

  17. Wow, he did a stunning job! Beautiful and haunting…just like your book.

    I can’t wait for everyone to be able to read your book…and even though I have the ARC, I can’t wait to buy the finished version. It’s going to be gorgeous.

  18. Wow! Congrats on the map, it looks amazing…so detailed and intriguing!

    Can’t wait for Shadow & Bone🙂

  19. Seahn

    I love maps for books and this is a darn pretty one. So much detail could look at it for hours, which I am fairly sure you have already done. You are very lucky.

  20. Pingback: Got You Covered: Shadow and Bone (by Leigh Bardugo) | Tempting Persephone

Leave a Reply

