Sound the trumpets!

 

This just in: the German edition of the first book in the Grisha Trilogy now has a cover! What do you guys think? Very different from the US cover, but I think it’s really lovely. Has an almost retro feel.

The title translates to Grisha: Golden Flame and in the summary, Alina is described as die Sonnenkriegerin, the sun warrior. I kind of want to put that on my business card.

 

And in other news… the finished hardcover of Shadow and Bone has arrived!

Tied up in a pretty gray bow and accompanied by a note from my editor, Noa Wheeler.

Don’t think I’ll ever tire of looking at Keith’s map.

Even with it’s jacket off, it’s still purty.

Dark red end papers and there I am!

One of the lovely flourishes…

And another…

And another…

And this.

At this point, I broke down and had a good, snotty cry.

Don’t forget, you can pre-order a signed copy of Shadow and Bone from Books of Wonder and get a 16″ x 20″ poster of Keith Thompson’s map (while supplies last). Now be a love and hand me a kleenex.

18 Comments

Filed under Writing

18 responses to “Sound the trumpets!

  1. *hands over embroidered handkerchief* *throws glitter and confetti* Yay, it looks as beautiful as it deserves! I’m so happy for you! And I can’t tell you how excited I am to read it. Scotland’s a tad far, but I’m determined to read it as soon as it’s released – whether by mail, carrier pigeon or gold-antlered elk. xx

    • !!! I love this comment in all ways. And yes please, delivery by gold-antlered elk is the preferred method.

      • I have to admit, your comment may have inspired chair-dancing among the revision papers and obscene quantities of chocolate. Very awkward dancing. I’ll know to send out the elk team to Books of Wonder post-haste! xx

  2. WOW! Everything is so gorgeous. So much attention to detail. I love it! Can’t wait to get a copy. Not that much longer till I can say congrats on your release๐Ÿ™‚
    Was your grandfather the storytelling type? Mine was as well. He passed away two weeks ago and I’m really going to miss his stories.

    • I’m so sorry to hear about your grandfather, Petra. I was raised by my grandparents, and though they passed years ago, it’s funny the way grief over their loss will still sneak up and grab me.

  3. Oh Leigh. It is beyond beautiful. I can’t wait to hold my copy.

  4. So much pretty!! Forget “pretty”–so much OMGSOBEAUTIFUL!! Can’t wait for a copy of my own! And I may or may not try to smuggle a copy from Germany somehow, hahaha.

  5. Alwyn

    Love the Chapter 1 flourish! It’s gorgeous! Well the whole thing looks lovely and stylized to be honest. I only hope that when I get my copy (had to preorder it from Books of Wonder in spite of the crazy shipping charges to London because of the Map, I oggled so much over Keith Thompson’s drawings in Leviathan) I succeed in NOT droping my copy in the bath…not that I’ve ever done that with a book or anything *shifty eyes* Anyway, can’t wait!

    • LOL. Which poor book did you drop in the bath? (and sorry about the beastly shipping charges!)

      • Alwyn

        *looks sheepish* It MIGHT have been the Night Circus. It only got dropped a little bit but dayum did those black edged pages leak. Shadow and Bone reminded me of it because it’s a very similar colour scheme with the red and black.

  6. Oh my gosh! The German cover is so so pretty. So is the US one! I think I want to own every edition of this book.๐Ÿ˜‰ Have you seen the UK proof cover? Even that one is gorgeous! I can’t wait for your book to be out in the world Leigh. So many people will love it! Even your dedication page is awesome.๐Ÿ˜‰

    • I hope you’re right, Sam๐Ÿ˜€ The thing that amazes me is how DIFFERENT all of the covers are. I wouldn’t even guess they were from the same book!

  7. usagi.

    S-so pretty. ;A;

  8. Yandraikana

    I want to publish it in Spain! What a beautiful edition. SO BEAUTIFUL!!That well maintained, that detail.๐Ÿ˜‰ I want to read NOW!!!

    A greeting from Spain :**

  9. “OMGSOBEAUTIFUL” captures my feelings as well.

Leave a Reply

